Breaking

International IFAB confirms change in handball rule




The International Football Association Board (IFAB) has announced that the incidents of accidental handball that lead to a team-mate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity, will no longer be considered an offence.

Football’s law-making body confirmed this today in a statement.

The controversial section of the handball law was enforced during the Premier League game between Fulham and Tottenham on Thursday night.

Fulham had a goal by Josh Maja ruled out, when the ball cannoned into the hand of his team-mate Mario Lemina from a Davinson Sanchez clearance.

IFAB has now agreed on the change, which comes into effect from July 1.

However, competitions have the flexibility to introduce changes before that date.

An IFAB statement read: “As the interpretation of handball incidents has not always been consistent due to incorrect applications of the law, the members confirmed that not every touch of a player’s hand/arm with the ball is an offence.”

It added: “Accidental handball that leads to a team-mate scoring a goal or having a goal-scoring opportunity will no longer be considered an offence.”

It will remain a handball offence if a player scores accidentally with their hand or arm, or uses their hand or arm directly before scoring. Dailypost

Socialize

Disclaimer
Most News articles reported on SSTNEWS are a reflection of what is published in the media. SSTNEWS is not in a position to verify the accuracy of daily news articles, however, we ensure that only news articles from credible sources are reflected in this service. Independent opinions which are mailed to us may also be published from time to time at our discretion, however the sources for these independent articles will be clearly stated.

Share your story with us: SMS: +2349067561649, Whatsapp: +2349067561649, Email: shockingstatementafrica@gmail.com or qubesentertainmentmagazine@yahoo.com
Receive Alerts on: Whatsapp: +2349067561649, Twitter: @sstnewsng